Walk Therapy

Every so often there’s an article in the newspaper about some new drug being used by psychiatrists in the treatment of mental maladies.  Usually this precipitates a response by psychologists and psychotherapists who make a case that “talk therapy” should be employed, either instead of or along with, the use of pharmacology.  I have no doubt about the sincerity of the different sides in this discussion but for me that disagreement brings to mind a quote by Upton Sinclair that I often find apt, “It is difficult to get a man to understand something, when his salary depends on his not understanding it.”

By happenstance I have discovered another alternative treatment technique –“walk therapy”.  I’ll explain: A few weeks ago, I was giving a friend of mine a tour of DUMBO and Brooklyn Heights.  At some point, we found ourselves at the corner of Pierrepont and Clinton Streets and I realized we were standing in front of a building where I used to see a therapist. Afterwards, we were walking in Manhattan, and yet again, I found myself across from a building where one of my former therapists had his office. Surprisingly, I found a sense of well-being just being in the vicinity of these sites.  Which led me to think about building on those good feelings by planning a walking tour of all the offices I had visited over the years.

Is he local?

Is he local?

The tour would begin pretty early in the morning where I’d make a stop at West 10th Street near Fifth Avenue in Greenwich Village.  I plan to stay there for quite some time.  At some point a group of about six or seven people will join me for a period of time.  About noon, I’ll make my way back to Park Slope for a good part of the afternoon; after that I’ll head back to yet a different street in the Village. From there I’d wend my way up to the Upper West Side (with a partner), and visit a few locations there. Then a brief stop around Madison Park, an even a briefer one in Tribeca, back over to Brooklyn Heights and finally wind up in Windsor Terrace.

I could very well be on to something with this kind of therapy.  So, I think I’d like to share my new-found theory.  I’m forming a start-up venture.  A tour similar to the NYC Five Borough Bike Ride. Except, it will cover only two boroughs and the West Side Highway will remain open.  And no bikes will be involved. Otherwise, just the same.

Actually, as I think about it, I think it will be closer in style to the tour that the real life Kramer from Seinfield runs taking groups to the various haunts featured on the show. Of course, unlike the Kramer tour, we’ll be walking around–no bus or van.

So before you make plans for that eco-tour in Costa Rica, I hope you’ll consider a shorter psycho-tourism vacation with me right here in New York City. Please make sure you wear comfortable shoes.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Walk Therapy”

  1. Frank Freitag Says:

    Do you accept Medicare ? 😕

    • iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

      Good question….I accept third party payments, second party payments, cash and payments from your fourth best friend.

  2. Rich Says:

    If you really want to get into psycho tourism how about a trip to E. 22nd St, Bklyn.

  3. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    I don’t remember anything close to a therapist there. narcissists but no therapists.

Leave a Reply

