The Fifth Beatle

Here’s a news item that came across my desk:

LONDON (AP) — Paul McCartney says he has given up marijuana after many years of indulgence and now prefers wine or “a nice margarita.”

The former Beatle told the Daily Mirror he doesn’t want to set a bad example for his children and grandchildren by using marijuana. He said Saturday his decision is “a parent thing.”

He says “the last time I smoked was a long time ago.”

Well . . . this is pretty sobering news.  After all, I’m a parent and a grandparent.  Which means, I suppose, that I should also consider the effect some of the things I haven’t done in a long time might be having on my kids and grand kids.  So with that in mind, I’ve decided, once and for all, to give up breast milk.  It’s been a long, long time since I indulged, but now it’s official–no more suckling from my mother’s teat.  There, I’m now on record as being almost as self-sacrificing as Sir Paul.

Yet, somehow I feel that may not be enough of a sacrifice to evidence how much I want to set a good example for my offspring.  So I’m also giving up some other stuff —  stuff I’ve never even tried.  That means no heroin or crack cocaine for me; and no Mountain Dew either.

And here’s one last abstention I’m announcing.  Even though the last time I listened to his music was years ago, in recognition of this “parent thing”,  I’ve decided to give up all of McCartney’s post-Beatles music.

It’s not going to be easy, but I think my children and grandchildren will be the better for it.

"And no more hair dye, botox, plastic..."

“And no more hair dye, botox, plastic…”

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

