My Biological Clock

If you’ve read the previous blog post, you’d know that I’ve undertaken reading the output of the last five years.  Having completed that pleasure, it became evident to me that three distinct themes have recurred over the years.  One is my sensitivity to feelings of being ignored, the second is the problems with my left shoulder and the last is dealing with getting older.  I’m pretty sure I can deal with the first two, but I think that last one is going to kill me.  In fact, I know it will.

In so many ways, I’m constantly being reminded that I’m not so young anymore.  Not the least of these is the establishment of my grandfatherness.  And now, just last week, my son Essej and his wife, Fets, had their third kid. sky-3(See NOTE)  The good news is…it’s a girl!  The bad news is … I’m now more deeply entrenched in grandpa status than ever.  And, if that weren’t enough, I recently learned that my daughter, Annaoj and her husband, Hsoj, are expecting this summer.  So, in a span of just a few months  I will have gone from having my toe in the water of grandpa-ness to swimming laps in it.  It’s as if these kids don’t realize that they’re not the only ones with biological clocks.

As if these happenings aren’t doing enough to age me, I just had a birthday.  Now the crazy thing about that is that in one day I got a whole year older. That’s nuts!  It’s just like daylight savings time, i.e., one day it’s eight AM and voila!, the same time the next day, it’s 9AM.  The big difference is, of course, that the aging thing is a one way street; there’s no “falling back” in November; or any other time, for that matter.  It’s all making me feel as if someone has gone to the hardware store and has begun rummaging through the bins for coffin nails.

Maybe that’s a bit of an over-reaction.  Probably partially informed by the pain in my shoulder and a sense that I’m not being taken into account.  But who would want to read about that? And more to the point, who would want to write about that (again)?  Not me.

NOTE: Our new addition is named “Skye”.  It’s a very pretty name but I’m not sure where it came from.  I’m almost certain it’s not one of those Old Testament names that have been so popular and, as far as I know, we don’t have any “Skye’s” in our families. In any event, she’s awfully cute and I’m sure I’ll be delighted having her call me …well, you know what.

Support independent publishing: Buy this e-book on Lulu.

2 Responses to “My Biological Clock”

  1. Buzz Says:

    I just love to all! Maybe look at it this way; It’s all new material.
    Put me down for the lifetime subscription. You Rock!!

  2. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    thanks Buzz. Sometimes I’m not sure where life starts an “material” begins.

Leave a Reply

