“And On His Farm There Were Some …chicks!”

When I was in Florida a few weeks ago, I was flipping through the channels and I saw something that threw me.  On the screen was a commercial showing a guy riding his tractor, heading off into what must have been thousands of acres.  And then the screen split and there was an additional image of a woman riding a horse, alone in a field that also looked like thousands of acres.  These scenes were accompanied by  a voice-over saying something like, “How could John ever meet Mary when they’re separated by so much space?  Well, the answer is Farmersonly.com.”  I thought what I was watching was so silly that it must be an SNL parody.  But in fact, it wasn’t.  This was a genuine ad for a dating website catering specifically to people living in very rural areas.

The site encourages its visitors to, “Sign up for free to find a farmer, rancher, cowboy, cowgirl or animal lover here at Farmersonly.com, an online dating site meant for down to earth folks only.” Presumably, us city folk neither love animals or are “down to earth”.  Who knows…maybe they’re right.

From the Gift Registry at John Deere

From the Gift Registry at John Deere

Of course, I shouldn’t have been so surprised that there’s a site geared for country folk.  I know that there are other dating sites targeted at all kinds of specific groups. For example, there are sites for older people, Jews, Christians, Ivy Leaguers and various other subsets of singles.  I guess my metro-centric thinking had never considering the needs of people who live hundreds of miles away from a Starbucks.

 The ad got me considering how difficult it has been for people who live isolated lives finding a mate (soul, or otherwise).  Which, when you think about it, was the precise reason behind the inception of “mail order brides” in  the old west.  Obviously, now that we’re living in more modern and egalitarian times, we see the advent of something like Farmersonly.com.

Though I can’t help but wonder about the judgment of the owners of the site.  For example, there’s a town in Wyoming– Lost Springs– that boasts a population of one.  That’s right, one person.  If Farmersonly.com is lucky enough to sign up the entire town, the company will make an additional $19.95 a month. That’s nothing to write home about.  But I’m sure these people are a lot smarter than I am, so I guess there’s enough of a market between the two coasts to make their business a success. And who knows, maybe there’s even room for some competition.  I have some time.  And lots of ideas.  So as of today, I’m the proud owner of the following domains: Countrybumkin.com, Yokel.com, Cowpoke.com and MyHick.com. Wish me luck!  Or, just sign in to: Wishmeluck.com.

"Loves fine dining, sunsets and long walks on the prairie"

“Loves fine dining, sunsets and long walks on the prairie”

Support independent publishing: Buy this e-book on Lulu.

2 Responses to ““And On His Farm There Were Some …chicks!””

  1. http://datingcoach.cc Says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and
    wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog
    posts. In any case I will be subscribing to
    your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  2. Lowell Says:

    My brother suggested I might like this blog. He used to be
    entirely right. This post truly made my day.
    You can not believe simply how a lot time I had spent for this information!

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

