The Rapture

Think I'll pass...looks too much like skydiving.

Think I’ll pass…looks too much like skydiving.

In case you didn’t know it, tonight George W. Bush is going to be the keynote speaker at the annual fundraiser for the Messianic Jewish Bible Institute (MJBI), a Texas-based (where else?) organization whose primary raison d’être is to convert all Jews to Christianity…one Jew  at a time.  This outfit is not to be confused with the Jews For Jesus folks; they’re more like, Jesus For Jews.  A distinction with a difference.

My hazy understanding of this conversion business is, that once they’ve gotten all of us, it will lead to the second coming of Jesus Christ on earth which will mean the end of the world.  The end that is, except for a certain group of people who will be left behind on earth.  It isn’t disclosed exactly who those people might be, but my guess is that they won’t have names like Goldberg or Weinstein.  I also guess that many of them will speak with a drawl, have neatly parted hair and love fried food.   This changing of the guard (god?) is what is referred to as, “The Rapture”.

One of MJBI’s main selling points to get Jews to convert is the claim that one can be authentically Jewish while still holding core Christian beliefs about the divinity of Jesus. Who knows, maybe that’s true; I seem to recall my own family shouting , “Jesuschristalmighty!” all the time.

But apart from that anecdotal evidence, in researching this essay, I found that there are just too many  fundamental areas where differences between Christianity and Judaism cannot be reconciled.  In other words, regardless of the MJBI’s sales pitch, you’re either Jewish or Christian, you can’t be both.

There has been a lot of fuss made by Jewish organizations about W. ‘s giving his stamp of approval to the MJBI by speaking at their conference. There is some  speculation that he may not exactly understand what  their mission is.   Or that he might be doing it for a huge speaking fee.  Either way,  I don’t think he should expect much in the way of  Chanukah gelt this year.

But the most interesting thing I found out while getting all this information about the Messianic Jewish Bible Institute is that there is a Messianic Jewish dating site (why am I surprised?).  I can only imagine the dating profiles on the site.  Most likely, they have a lot of the same stuff you’d see on Match.com ; “I enjoy sunsets, long walks on the beach, and fine divining”.  You know…stuff like that.

2 Responses to “The Rapture”

  1. J Krist Says:

    I could not resist googling “messianic jewish dating sites.” A quick glance turned up four. I assume there are more. Good luck Neil. I’m sure you’ll find someone. And welcome to the flock. Steins will be spared when end times rolls around.

    • iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

      No need for those dating sites. Anyway, I’m an atheist. I’m not going to look…but there has to be a dating site, godless.com or some equivalent.

Leave a Reply

