“And The Winner Is……”

I’ve decided:  in my next life, I’d like to come back as an undecided voter in a swing state.  I used to want to come back as a professional athlete, but I’m a little skittish about needles, so the idea of getting steroid injections has ruined that dream.  But after watching the Presidential debate last night I’m pretty sure an uncommitted voter is where I’d like my reincarnation to land.   More on that later.

I’ve been following the Presidential race really, really  closely.  And to that end, I’ve put in an unfathomable number of hours watching the lineup of pundits and commentators on MSNBC.  Surprisingly, this has led me to conclude that I have to break up with them.  I don’t do this lightly.  And no…it’s not me, it’s them.

For a while, I really liked Chris Matthews.  But during this campaign he has become increasingly shrill; to the point where I can practically hear him with the sound muted.  I just can’t take him any longer.  Ed Schultz, who I almost like, is just way too knee-jerk, moveon.org, liberal for me.  I’m pretty liberal–but not everything (or everyone) is as black and white as he sees it.  So he and I are done.

Surprisingly, some of the best and most thoughtful commentary comes from of all people,  Al Sharpton.  This would be fine except I’m finding it harder and harder to watch him;  he seems to be getting smaller every day and appears to be very close to disappearing.  And then there’s also this little voice in my head repeating, “Tawana Brawley, Tawana Brawley”.  So the Reverend and I are kaput.   I don’t know where to begin with by critique of Lawrence O’Donnell.  Evidently, somewhere along the way he decided that he would be the “gotcha!” pundit.  So he now seizes on any small inconsistency he finds on the other side.  At first, I found this very satisfying.  But as a steady diet, it’s bland, unappealing and small-minded.  And lately, he’s decided that calling Mitt Romney et al, “liars” would be his brand of forceful journalism.  I like the idea of not mincing words but he should save the accusation for the more important stuff, not some small detail that was misrepresented.   And on a personal note, I just find him too self-serving and full of himself.  His head may be the only thing that’s larger than his ego.  He’s just not my cup of tea.

Lastly– and I don’t know if you can appreciate how much it pains me to say this–Rachel Maddow and I are calling it quits.  We’re just not getting along.  Somewhere along the way in our relationship, she changed, not I.  For some time now, she has been making  her point by repeating it over and over again; each time in a  slightly different way but with the same substance.   If she did that once, maybe twice, instead of the half-dozen times that she does, her hour show would probably run about four minutes.  Maybe that explains the constant repetition.  That has been bad enough…but now, now she has begun shouting at me.  Relentless, not coming up for air, smarty pants, hectoring.  I just can’t take it anymore.  Sadly, it seems that it’s time for me to move on.

But back to the debate.  I especially like the interviews that CNN does with uncommitted voters after each debate.  I am stunned at the level of persuasion most of these people seem to need to get them off the fence.  But I have a theory about that.  I think that most of them are looking for a reason not to vote for the President; hoping that Mr. Romney will present himself as  just good enough for them to  favor him.  And the fact is…there’s really nothing that President Obama can do to win them over.  After all, he was black before the debate began and he was still black at debate’s end.   And the third debate isn’t going to change that either.

One Response to ““And The Winner Is……””

  1. Ed (De?) Says:

    You can watch MSNBC election night or, if you can’t wait, see it here now — http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0081900/

Leave a Reply

