An Idea Whose Time Has Come

I don’t know how it is for you, but when I travel I’m really awful at packing.  I love the idea of traveling light but I’m afraid to be caught short of something, so invariably I over-pack.  Throwing a whole bunch of stuff in the car is one thing; loading myself down when flying is another matter altogether.  So you can imagine my relief when I saw an ad in The Times placed by Westin Hotels which may be the answer to my prayers.

It seems that the bright folks at Westin have decided that as a way to induce people to stay with them they’ll provide fitness outfits and sneakers for their guests to use while staying at their hotel.  I bet they’re envisioning a conversation that goes like this: “Honey, where should we stay  when we visit the kids…the Marriot or the Westin?  Sweetie… of course, the Westin.  This way, we won’t have to pack our sneakers!”   Or something like that.

At first blush, this seems to be an idea whose time has come.  But really…wearing used clothes and sneakers?  Come on! Oh sure, the sneakers are New Balance, but they’re not new New Balance.  More like “used” or more euphemistically, “previously owned” New Balance.  (But probably with an extended warranty.)  And someone else’s shorts, tee-shirt and sweats?  I don’t think that’s going to happen.

Of course, my judgment may be off and I could be completely wrong about this.  (After all, I never bought stock in Apple.)  And, in fact,  this may well  be the best new thing to come along in a long, long while.   And maybe also, it’s just the start…just the tip of an iceberg of a movement that will make traveling, amazingly easy.  It’s not hard to imagine that in the not too distant future, we’ll be able to pack almost nothing;  we’ll just provide our clothing size along with our dress style when we make our reservation.  For me, this would almost certainly be an upgrade of anything I might bring along.

But why stop there? Why do I have to bring anything at all?  The Westin could provide me with a toothbrush (GUM, thank you) , a hairbrush (boar hair bristle, thanks) and an assortment of other toiletry articles.  And while they’re at it, why not  pick out the book for me that I probably wasn’t going to get around to reading?

I was telling Yduj about my idea and she had another suggestion:  as long as the hotel is supplying all this replacement  stuff, maybe they could provide a fill-in for a mate  if yours is acting jerky.  I wonder…why in the world would she come up with an idea like that?

 

       

“Pack Light, Stay Fit, Bring Antibiotics”

Leave a Reply

