Scrabbled Eghs (27 points)

Up until now, I’ve been a hold-out in acquiring much of  the new technology that is currently available.  Apart from my natural inclination to be a Luddite, I know how little self-control I have and assume that if I bought one of these toys,  I’ll spend most of the rest of my life with some device attached to my ear or my faced glued to some screen.  Unfortunately, that is exactly what has happened.

I had read an article in The Times about a new tablet that Google has come out with–the Nexus 7– which is heralded as the best thing to appear on the tech scene since…since…well, since the last great thing.  It is also very cheap; in fact, so cheap that  the people at  Google say that they’re losing money on each one sold.  (I guess they expect to make it up in volume.)   I was on the fence about getting the Nexus,  but  that piece of information sent me vaulting over that fence well into the next county.  After all, who could resist a deal like that!?

As I feared, my Nexus and I have become inseparable. We never go anywhere without the other.  Mostly, what I do with it (and now, with most of my time) is play “Words With Friends” (which is essentially, Scrabble).  I have several games going simultaneously with Luap, another with by friend, boB and a few more with strangers.  As a result, most of my real-life relationships have taken a backseat to my new cyber ones.  Actually, some have moved beyond the backseat and now reside in my trunk.

I started playing Scrabble as a kid with my father and rather quickly started getting the better of him.  I had a talent for getting high point scores using tricky word combinations. My father had almost no guile in his person and it showed in the way that he played.  There was no strategy or craftiness in his game.

 Compared to the Scrabble of today, our games were  prosaic and quaint.  There was no “ka” or “qi” in our lexicon; we  used only “real” words.  My father enforced the official Scrabble rules which meant that a player could be challenged when making some weird word. If the word wasn’t in our dictionary, the player would forfeit his turn.  In today’s on-line Scrabble world, a player can try limitless possibilities, until some crazy word is formed.  If  you lay down letters that don’t constitute a word, the website simply rejects the word as not acceptable and invites you to try another crazy word.  All with impunity.  As often as you’d like.  It’s probably just as well that Sam didn’t stick around long enough to see this turn of events.

On the other hand, my brother, Stevie, had a different set of criteria when we would play.  He  didn’t care if a word was in our dictionary or not.  At least, not when it was his turn.  What he did care about was not losing to his younger brother.  So about 60 years ago,  Stevie played the word ” jetex“, which isn’t a word.  And I….. oh boy, my Nexus just rang.  Gotta go–Luap just made “zin”! (You know, we use zin all the time when we’re talking about…about….about …well you know.)  Anyway, 36 points!  Jeez!

2 Responses to “Scrabbled Eghs (27 points)”

  1. Frank Freitag Says:

    Stop already! You guys sound like you’re having so much fun at the office I just want to come back full time! :o)

  2. Mike McPartland (technology challenged) Says:

    This sounds even more boring than the original scrabble game. Take my advice: Go back to being a true Luddite and smash this cheap device with a hammer. Your real-life friends will thank you for it.

Leave a Reply

