“GOODNIGHT MRI”

Lately, I’ve been visiting doctors a lot more often than I ordinarily do and I know that my health care costs are starting to skyrocket.  Even though I seem fairly healthy, it has  occurred to me that this is probably a lot what it would look like (from a financial viewpoint) if I were entering my last year amongst you. As I noted in a previous blog,  about one third of the entire Medicare budget is spent on enrollees’  last year of life so despite how I’m feeling, statistically speaking, I’m a walking time bomb and the  jig may soon be up.

What has contributed to the ballooning of  the money the government is spending on me is a series of MRI’s of my shoulder that I’ve had done over the last six months.  After each MRI, I’ve brought the images along with me to my doctor’s appointment.  Oddly, each time that I’ve offered to leave them, my doctor has declined the offer.  So I now have in my possession several complete sets; if I were living in a different era, I’d try to  trade them with my friends.  (I’d probably also see if I could clip one to the front wheel of my bike so as to make a cool clicking sound.)  But these are different times.

Since I’m big recycler (a nice way of saying I don’t throw anything out) I”ve been trying to figure out what to do with the fifteen or so 16″ X 12″ negatives that I have.  Ebay and Craigslist have proven to be busts. After discussing my dilemma with Luap and Giarc we decided that these might be exactly the kind of images that kids find fascinating.  Initially, we  thought that the transparencies might make an interesting coloring book.    But we soon realized that kids might not be absorbed enough in staying within the lines of my bursa sac or my rotator cuff.  Probably a little too clinical for a three year old.  And then we hit on what seems like the perfect use.  I’m going to have the MRI’s bound and add a whimsical, colorful cover.  A perfect child’s book. (Particularly if the kid has any interest in going into the medical field.)  All that’s left is to come up with the perfect title.   Maybe “Good Night MRI or possibly “Where The Wild MRI’s Are”  or “Cat In MRI” or “Curious George’s MRI” or ….

 

7 Responses to ““GOODNIGHT MRI””

  1. Bert Says:

    You need to change doctor or move out of state

  2. Yduj Says:

    or “The Terrible..Horrible..No Good…Very Bad …MRI”…

    …maybe moving to Australia should be a serious consideration….don’t think they do MRI’s there!

    • iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

      Great idea! But I think Down Under they do IRM’s. Btw…did I mention…water flushes in the opposite direction too! that could be so entertaining for a year or so.

  3. Aliehs Says:

    I’ll trade you my two MRI’s and one xray for your MRI’s!

  4. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    Now we’re talking! This is America at its best. Wheeling and dealing! (sound a bit like Clyde Frazier there). BTW…is that a rookie Xray?

  5. David Says:

    I have years of MRI’s in my closet…of the back, the knee, etc. Perhaps we could persuade the Metropolitan Museum of Art or MOMA to do a show of MRIs as the hot new art form of the 21st century.

  6. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    you have a great idea here…but i’d go with the metropolitan–maybe in the antiquities wing.

    hope all i well

Leave a Reply

