Small Pond…Smaller Fish

A few weeks ago I went to a dinner party at my friends, Tap and Nerak’s house, which is located a bit down the road from my house in the country.  They have this wonderful place…a huge barn that’s been converted into an extraordinary living space.  But more on that later.  Maybe.  I’ve previously written about going to a holiday party at their place which left me feeling less than terrific.  (https://ironicman.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/lifestyles-of-the/)  I was hoping things would turn out differently this time.

There were about a dozen or so people at the party…all of them interesting and delightful.  There was lively, urbane conversation over a terrific meal.  I struggled to keep up but somehow managed. After dinner, we all went upstairs to see the part of the second 5000′ of the “barn” where there was a sound and video studio which my hosts sometimes use in their business.  At this point, Tap, who had recently been inducted into the Iowa Rock ‘N Roll Hall Of Fame played a few tunes on his horn. This instigated some conversation by some of the other guests…one who it turned out,  writes musical scores for films, another, a classical violinist who had recently completed a countrywide tour. It began to dawn on me that I might be rubbing elbows with a group of very accomplished  people.  I was with my friends boB and Lav;  I recalled that boB has an Emmy under his belt and Lav has been a successful producer.  And  Nerak is an amazing cook as well as a successful herbalist.   And so on down the line…almost all of my dinner companions were amazingly talented.  And then… there was no-great-talent me.  I remember thinking, “This isn’t the Upper West Side or the Village–it’s the COUNTRY for chrissake!!  Where are all the hicks, rubes and hayseeds when you need them?”

After the party had ended, I went back to my house which up until that evening had thought was pretty wonderful.   I was sitting on my couch mulling over the evening’s events. I sat there staring at the fireplace and the mantle above it where I keep my “Least Improved” trophy from my tennis club.  Placed right next to the “Non-Participation” trophy I don’t get each year.  It occurred to me that a nice addition to the grouping might be a “Least Talented” award.  God knows I’ve earned it.

10 Responses to “Small Pond…Smaller Fish”

  1. Bob Says:

    Hey, You were a winner in the macabee games..okay so you came in second!

  2. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    Actually….third. That’s just between us.

  3. sister Says:

    just remember who was , “one in a million”, who was , “one in a thousand” and who was, “won in a raffle” and it’s been downhill from there

  4. Lav Says:

    Good news! You just won first place in the H2 awards!

  5. Ray Says:

    Big Neil,
    Are you sure this is not just another clever ploy on your part to have all of your friends pump you up by recalling all of the accomplishments in your life?? (BTW, you have many, starting with a great son!)

    • iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

      you see…this ‘woe is me’ thing is working! and so close to being pathetic.

      thanks for the credits.

  6. Kitty (My Husband Hates Veggies) Says:

    but you are a NY Times published writer!

  7. Rob Says:

    Ha! And yet you’re probably funnier than all of them.

    • iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

      i’ll take that in the best way.

      nice to see you’re still a reader….a dying breed.

      hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

