Real Men Don’t Zumba

A few weeks ago, I went to my doctor for my annual check up.   My favorite part of the exam is when we go over the lab results from my blood tests.  The last number of years my numbers have been really, really good.  Actually, not just good… but fabulous.  I always have his office make me a copy of the lab printout so I’ll be able to share my scores with a few of my friends.  This always proves to be an empty exercise.  No one has the same interest in me as I do.  (This is a recurring theme.)  If my parents were still alive, I’d probably make a visit to show them yet another “report card’ of which I’m proud.

My next favorite part of the visit is my exit interview held in Steve’s…my doctor’s office.  I don’t refer to him here as “Steve” easily.  A number of years ago when I had first starting seeing him I suggested that, since he was a neighbor of mine and we had a number acquaintances in common, we should be on a first name basis.   He thought (a little too long) about it and said it seemed like it would be okay.  Since then, neither of has used the other’s name.  Big surprise.  At any rate, while I was in Steve’s office I asked about the shingles vaccine that I know is now available.  Shingles (given my roof climbing experiences)  sounds like a disease that has my name written all over it and from what I know,   it seems like something I’d really like to avoid.  We got to talking about the disease and somehow other auto-immune diseases came up at which point I mentioned to him that I had never had either chicken pox or measles as a kid.  Apparently, that might mean I have an immunity to shingles and the vaccine (which he didn’t have available anyway) would be redundant.  To confirm this, he took some more blood samples to send to the lab.

I awaited a call from him which never came.  But, a few weeks later I got a letter in the mail from Steve on which he had used his doctor’s handwriting to scrawl, “you’ve had both chicken pox and measles”.   This threw me for any number of reasons.  I’ve been around me my entire life–you would think I would know what diseases I’ve had.  This unwelcome news left me questioning all sorts of other facts and impressions I have about myself…even beyond my usual self-doubt.   Also, not having had either of those childhood diseases had been (along with my dancing calves — https://ironicman.wordpress.com/2009/09/25/to-calve-and-calve-not/)  one of my few “claims to fame”.  So much for that.

 Still, I’m not sure if I’m ready to completely believe this new information.  So I have a call in to my sister to see if she has any recollections of me ever having those illnesses.  That is, if she is indeed my sister.  I’ll probably have to check that out with Steve, as well.

My least favorite part

It's For Girls

 

5 Responses to “Real Men Don’t Zumba”

  1. Sheila S. Says:

    love this post- however, couldn’t quite get the connection with Zumba- by the way, have never seen a man anywhere near a Zumba class

  2. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    hi sheila… you’re right, there’s no connection whatsoever. real men can use titles that have nothing to do with content. see you soon.

  3. sister Says:

    neil Who?

  4. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    very cute. please be kidding…

  5. Mike McPartland Says:

    When you get to be my age, if you do, I think you’ll start to enjoy the DRE more and more. Shakspurr.

Leave a Reply

