“That’s What She Said”

About six months ago I started watching old episodes of The Office.  I had never watched the show before so to catch up I DVR’d any shows that were being televised…both new and old.  Believe me, watching the number of airings that are on each week is close to a full-time job; which fortunately, dovetails very nicely with my other almost full-time job at Garfield Realty.  Occasionally, I talk about the shows I’m watching with Luap, Zil or Giarc (the not-so-new guy) at my  office.  This is a slip on my part.  I’ve been on the receiving end of people who didn’t watch some really popular show say, The Sopranos, until years after it had been originally been on TV and then want to talk about some interesting or extraordinary event that happened in Season Three.  Well…it’s hard to be interested in that and for me, even harder to feign interest.  Sadly. I’ve found myself becoming that person and it’s only because my co-workers are nicer than I am that they have indulged me.

At any rate, the show–The Office– is terrific.  But despite how much I enjoy it, the show leaves me with this unsettled feeling that my own office pales in comparison in terms of off beat situations and characters. When I started this blog adventure I thought one of the mainstays would be postings devoted to  the people and the events in my office.  (After all, is there anything more interesting than the machinations of a real estate office?) But if you’ve been following for the last several years you can see that fewer and fewer blog postings have anything whatsoever to do with Garfield Realty or the people who populate it. What has happened I’m afraid, is that things have changed.  Luap has taken this fatherhood thing very much to heart, has settled down and become a solid citizen; Zil is now pregnant and seems to be more interested in that than in providing me with blog fodder; and Giarc (the not-so-new guy) continues to play things close to the vest.  Add to that, Knarf’s apparent retirement (still awaiting a formal announcement) and De, our resident conservative now keeping bankers hours as if the bank had closed and well…there’s not much blog gold to be spun from Garfield.  It’s not that I’ve fallen out of love with the staff here but can you imagine how much writing fun I could have if I had a Dwight working here…or a Kelly…or even a Kevin? So I’ve added “quirkiness” to my list of specific requirements for any new hirees for our office (See: https://ironicman.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/the-interview/)  ‘Cause churning these things out isn’t easy; in fact, it’s hard…very hard. Now all together…THAT’S WHAT SHE SAID!!

The Dream Team

2 Responses to ““That’s What She Said””

  1. Kitty (My Husband Hates Veggies) Says:

    Its all gone downhill since I left, admit it…

    • iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

      answering that is somewhat like responding to: ‘so when did you stop beating your wife?’ so… we miss you… and we’ll leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

