“R U Talkin’ 2 Me?”

I’m usually not particularly surprised when I receive a wrong number call on my land line.  Rarely, I’ll get one on my cell phone which still shocks me a bit.  But this week I was thrown when I received my first ever text message sent to me in error.  When I got the message, it never occurred to me that I wasn’t the intended recipient–that someone could send a “wrong text”–and since the message made no sense whatsoever to me ,  I assumed that my not knowing what the hell the writer was talking about, was the very beginning of my descent into the maybe not-so-long road to wearing diapers.  I had never entertained the idea that  it would begin like that;  I had always thought it would start by my getting lost a lot (or more precisely, more than I already do), maybe showing up for concerts or performances on the wrong date (more frequently than I already do [see:https://ironicman.wordpress.com/2010/05/13/schmos-pub/ ]) or things like that.  Not by my forgetting entire conversations.

I’m always thrilled  to receive texts, so when I read:: ” any chance ur neighbor is still away n i can park in ur driveway??”  my first inclination was to believe I had indeed made some kind of offer to help out a buddy with his/her parking problem.  But after recovering from the excitement of  just receiving a message, I realized I don’t have a driveway…or a neighbor, for that matter.   This was a dead give away that this text was not meant for me and that  my confusion wasn’t necessarily the beginning of some slippery slope. 

Still, I felt like I ought to respond in some way to the text writer.  And since I’m always looking for ways to be a better person that I actually am, I saw this as a golden opportunity to effectuate that.  So I wrote back: “as far as i cn tel, it looks lik my neighbr wil b gon 4 a whil.  feel free 2 use my drvwy 4 as lng as u need.  lets hav a drnk whn u drp off ur car”.  I can’t tell you how good it felt to do that favor.  It turns out being really, really  nice, isn’t as hard as I thought it would be.

2 Responses to ““R U Talkin’ 2 Me?””

  1. sister Says:

    thanks for the yuk, yuk! i had a good laugh. oh, did i tell u i’m going to costa rica?

Leave a Reply

