Off The Hook….Finally!

I noticed the smallest article I’ve ever seen in The Times last week.  In fact, I’ve seen some editor’s corrections that were larger than this.  It was so oddly placed…in a small corner of Page 5, that at first I thought it was one of those weird ads that you don’t realize is an ad until you notice the word “Advertisement” at the top of the copy.  But this definitely wasn’t an ad. 

The article reported that  Pope Benedict XVI has written a book in which he exonerates the Jews (as a people) for Jesus’ death.  This has to the best news for the Tribe since Sandy Koufax pitched his perfect game.  But I can’t help but wonder why it was such a tiny article–and why so oddly placed.  And how come I didn’t hear about it on the news or read about it anywhere else?  Why the big hush-hush?

The only reason I can think of for the suppression of  this information is that there are forces at work that want me (us) to continue feeling guilty.  What they don’t seem to realize, is that my (our) guilt is much more generalized…and that it will continue on its merry way with or without this exoneration.  Still,  I kind of appreciate the Pope’s gesture even though it’s a little late (by a thousand years or so).   I’d friend him on Facebook but I’m feeling a little guilty about doing that without buying his book.

3 Responses to “Off The Hook….Finally!”

  1. other jane Says:

    Exactly. It was nice that he felt like exonerating us, but, really, so what? What I found surprising was that the pope had written a book.

  2. Kitty (My Husband Hates Veggies) Says:

    I must have gone to quite the progressive Catholic School, because I remember as a young adult being very surprised that their were “Christians” out there who blamed the Jews for the death of Jesus.

  3. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    is it possible that ‘progressive school’ was a yeshiva?

Leave a Reply

