O Canada

I don’t know about you, but I’m starting to get really scared about the upcoming elections; I’m terrified that  right-wing extremists are about to take control of the political agenda in this country.  In preparation, I’ve started take some small steps to facilitate an easier transition to living in Canada, if necessary.   I’ve begun pronouncing “out” and “house”  with very broad “o”s.  I’m trying to incorporate as many “eh”‘s as possible  into my speech pattern.  I’ve  also set out to learn something…anything about hockey.  And most nights, you’ll find me practicing the Canadian national anthem (quite catchy actually). 

Part of my Canadianization has been prompted by a small article in The Times the other day about a debate in rural Indiana between two candidates for Congress.  The Democrat, Baron Hill, was talking about the reality of climate change saying that mankind  is the cause and something had to be done about it.  His Republican opponent is supported by the Tea Party and is a climate change skeptic. 

Mr. Hill’s remarks were met with a chorus of boos including a hearty growl from the founder of the local Tea Party, Norman Dennison.  After the debate Mr.  Dennison was quoted as saying this about climate change: “It’s a flat-out lie.” , noting that he based his view on the preaching of Rush Limbaugh and the teaching of Scripture.  “I read my Bible,”  he said.  “He made this earth for us to utilize.”   I wasn’t sure if he was talking about Rush or God.

Kelly Khuri, a  founder of the local Tea Party from an adjoining county was also there.  She said that the “so-called climate science” is ridiculous.  She continued…”I think it’s all cyclical.  Some people say I’m extreme, but they said the John Birch Society was extreme too.” (see: Note)

My jaw goes slack when I read this stuff; if there’s a bright side, it’s that I get to write about it.  To that end, I’m trying to come up with the perfect analogy for Ms. Khuri’s last remark.  I may even  run a contest for the best one; similar to the New Yorker cartoon contest.  The prize for the winner would be a one way ticket to Toronto.    Off the top of my head, my entry might be something like:  “Some people say that Kelly Khuri is  an idiot, but then again, they said that Norman Dennison is an idiot also.”

Note:  For those too young to remember, the John Birch Society was an ultra-conservative organization popular in the ’60s.  One of their pet theories was that (Republican) President Eisenhower was part of a so-called communist conspiracy.  God help us, Glenn Beck is the current incarnation of that movement.

2 Responses to “O Canada”

  1. David (aka divaD) Says:

    Well, I was first thinking about Canada during those few days when it appeared that McCain was ahead of Obama. (Well, I guess I thought about Canada in the 60’s during the draft also, until they invented the Vista program which kindly provided post law school deferments in the late 60’s). But now, I am again thinking about it…altho I have hope this election will not be as bad as it could be. One thing I found in my quick research, the beautiful city of Victoria in BC has the warmest climate in Canada. Often does not go below freezing in winter. Some call it the Miami of Canada –lots of retirees looking for warmer weather (by Canadian standards).

  2. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    dave… as long as you’re looking around…look for me too. we can even share a house like in the old days. you’ll do the cooking and i’ll…what exactly was it that i did?

    but this idea of being around retirees….sounds like a lot of old people. so, maybe not.

    love to you and lori

Leave a Reply

