“…….., is this seat taken?”

Yduj and I went to the movies the other day to see a small French film that had just opened at an art theater in The Village.  I was able to enjoy some of the benefits of my newly achieved seniority; a few bucks off my ticket… which didn’t feel nearly as good as I hoped it might.  I toyed with the idea of paying full price to see if I could fool myself but realized  I’m not that gullible.  I’ve been to this  theater a number of times and  the thing I like most about it is that almost all the patrons seem to be older than I am.  So, here I was again.

Fortunately, the theater was pretty empty and we had lots of options for choosing our seats.  We made sure that we weren’t blocking  the people in the row behind us as I took an aisle seat and Yduj the one next to me.   No one was in front of us.  Of course, that didn’t last too long as  an older man and  woman who may or not been a couple sat down in front of us.  That’s not exactly true– the man sat down directly in front of me and they left one seat’s space between them across which they chatted.   This gave Yduj a clear view of the screen.   As this happened we turned to the people sitting in the row behind us to see if they concurred that this seemed a little odd.  They shrugged which I took to mean that they agreed.  The man who had sat in front of me was a big guy with an even bigger head.  One that was inconceivably covered with a mop of burnt orange hair.  It was almost as if Opie, on a regimen of steroids,  had shown up seven decades later.  While I felt I could have found a position to see the screen, the man’s age made me think that his large head might start lolling as the movie progressed.  So, I made a decision to move to the other side of Yduj.  But now, I was  seated in front of my new-found friends in the row behind us.  They, in turn, had to move as well, which meant the people behind them and…..well, I think you can imagine the chain reaction this set off.  None of this (except that space between the ‘couple’) is exceptional and certainly wouldn’t merit a story. But then, something happened that made the experience memorable .  A few minutes later, a well-put together middle-aged woman, Ms. X, walked in and decided that, in this practically empty theatre, the best place to sit was on the aisle seat that I had vacated next to Yduj.  Right behind the big head.  As if the three of us had gone to the movies together.  Yduj and I were in the process of rolling our eyes at each other when in a moment that caught us by complete surprise, Ms. X got  up and with no hesitation whatsoever moved herself one row forward and into the seat  between Mr. Big Head and his beau.  They were stunned…and cut off from one another.  I, Yduj and our friends behind us were slack-jawed.  Something amazing  had happened right in front of us for which there was absolutely no explanation.  And, this is how we sat through  the movie — Yduj and I in a row by ourselves and some kind of menage a trois directly in front of us.

Afterwards, the  conversation between Yduj and me went back and forth between the movie and the seating drama we had witnessed.  The film (Madesmoiselle Chambon) was about a man, his wife and a woman who unexpectedly comes between them.  It’s only now that it hits me ….the film was obviously a  metaphor for the seating drama! Or is it vice-versa?  In any event, it’s art imitating life….or is that vice-versa?  Whatever!  Still,  I can’t stop wondering:  “Where and how does Aunt Bee fit into all this?”

3 Responses to ““…….., is this seat taken?””

  1. Buzz Says:

    One of my favorites of your little stories.
    I couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next.
    Two dramas for the price of discount ticket.
    What could be better? Ahh, life as a senior citizen.

  2. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    thanks knarf…

    actually THREE dramas. There’s always the one surrounding my own life.

  3. Scooter Pile « Ironicman's Blog Says:

    […] I thought that it would be best to present this as a trilogy ….similar to my movie trilogy (https://ironicman.wordpress.com/2010/06/09/is-this-seat-taken/ and  https://ironicman.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/pardon-me-but/…) except this time the […]

Leave a Reply

