“You’re Dead A Long Time”

A long while back, I was friends with  a woman who came from a large and traditional Italian family.  One of the things I liked most about Dolores was the stories she would tell me about her family.  One story that has stayed with me centered around a conversation that she had with one her aunts.  Dolores was visiting and her aunt was serving all sorts of Italian dessert pastries.  Dolores, who was careful about what she ate, was lingering over the cannolis;  unable to give in to temptation.  Her aunt, on seeing this hesitation, imparted this wisdom: “Come on Dolores.  Remember, you’re dead a long time. Eat the cannoli.”  And she did.  And this became one of  Dolores’ stock stories.  I still get a kick out of remembering how much pleasure she took in telling it. 

I repeated this story to a number of people, including my friend boB.  boB is a very proactive and adventuresome guy which is ordinarily a very good thing.   When we go skiing, he’s the one who gets me to go on slopes I have no business being on.  Usually, it turns out to be a lot of fun with few regrets. 

At any rate, when boB heard the story, he seemed to miss most of it and just heard the “you’re dead a long time” part. This more or less played into his world view and he kind of adopted this as his mantra;  his raison d’être for doing any number of things.  I’ve always found it endearing (and a bit scary) that  boB has been running his life these many years based on a piece of  advice  given by some little old Italian lady pushing her desserts.  

Dead a REALLY long time

yummy!

4 Responses to ““You’re Dead A Long Time””

  1. bob Says:

    DEPT OF CORRECTION NOTICE:

    “boB has been running his life these many years based on a piece of advice given my some little old Italian lady pushing her desserts.”

    “my” should be “by” unless she is your little old italian lady.

    BTW all my mantras are dessert or food related, or from commercials I see on TV. I am a very deep and spiritual person.

  2. David Says:

    On the same theme, for many years, I have conducted my life pursuant to a bit of wise philosophy I saw in a framed quote on the wall of bakery I frequented in downtown Washington. Under drawings of cake, pie and cookies, was the immortal phrase: “Life is short; eat dessert first”

    divaD

  3. jane Says:

    When I began baking for dollars, I printed business cards. It took a while to come up with a catchy slogan, but I was happy when 1,000 cards arrived in the mail with my name, telephone number (probably a beeper number too) and the slogan, “Fine Baked Goods”. My son, then probably a few years old, said, “Mommy, that’s what it says on the back of the Entenmann’s truck!”. Neil, where were you then? This would have been a fine slogan! When I stop teaching music and fire up the pizza ovens again, I’ll look no further.

    • iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

      Jane… you’re lucky you’re not in jail for ripping off Entenmann’s slogan (they’re ruthless– two “n”s.. probably Nazi’s)

      Glad to be of help but I’m not so sure that “Dead A Long Time Baked Goods” is the best way to go.

      Nice to hear from you and hope you’re doing well.

Leave a Reply

