The Woman I Relate To

 

 In the last several entries, I have referred to Yduj as “my girlfriend”. I can imagine that some women (and some men) might be offended by the use of the term “girlfriend”.  To be sure, Yduj  is a full-grown woman but I have settled on the term ‘girlfriend’ as there seems not to be any better choice.  I’ve  explored using ‘lover’, ‘partner’ or god-forbid, ‘significant other’ and some other terms including one that holds special meaning for me.   To wit: with the onset of the “women’s movement”, I had friends who formed a men’s “consciousness raising” group in an effort to deal with issues of sexism and as a counterpoint to the many women’s groups that were arising.  The preferred way that they adopted to refer to girlfriends, lovers and even wives was as, “the woman that I relate to.” I thought that these guys were so cool and highly evolved.  When they discussed feminist issues, it sounded like their consciousnesses had been raised to heights I had only dreamed of.  Not surprisingly, none of these men any longer relate to the women they used to relate to.  So, “girlfriend”, it is.

6 Responses to “The Woman I Relate To”

  1. jackie Says:

    so how does she refer to you as? Her boyfriend? Are you ok with that? Just asking.

  2. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    i’m trying to get her to refer to me as her ‘wonderful boyfriend’. not as easy as it sounds. what else is new?

    nice to hear from you. see you soon.

  3. Judy Says:

    you ARE a wonderful boyfriend, but in truth I usually refer to you as “my man”….said emphasizing the word man…with a very sexy gleam in my eyes…
    is that cool???
    yduj

  4. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    yduj…very nice to hear. but it begs the question……what the hell are you doing up so early??!!!

  5. Judy Says:

    waiting for you to make the coffee…
    xoxo

  6. Ray Says:

    Awwww, you guys are very cute!! You are right on the $$$! If she is not your wife then there are not many options. You can say “my friend” and incur the wrath later on or just go with “the girlfriend”. Simple, time tested and move on to the conversation at hand.

Leave a Reply

