It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like……

I know that it’s been a long time between posts.  I’ll take your lack of concern as a sign of respect for my privacy. Thanks.  Ordinarily, these entries have a central (although sometimes meandering) theme.  This one doesn’t….and honestly, if they were all like this one is going to be, I wouldn’t blame you for giving up on me.  It’s written simply to remain in contact.

It’s been a tumultuous couple of weeks.  The debate over health care reform has twisted and turned me in so many ways.  Apparently, I’m very persuadable (sometimes, this is a good thing).  I listen to Howard Dean and I believe the entire watered down version should be scrapped.  And then, some liberal Senator (say, Sherrod Brown) says it’s a good start and something wonderful has been accomplished.  And I’m on board with that.  But rather than figuring out where I stand by educating myself on the merits of this or other issues,  I’ve found that  the wisest thing for me to do is just take the opposite position  of De, the resident Republican in my office. Works every time.

And then of course, there’s Rachel Maddow…who I’ve fallen in love with.  There’s a couple of problems with that…she’s way younger than I am, already has a partner and she’s a lesbian.  The last two I could probably work around….the age thing will never go away.  Too bad. And what conversation about health care reform would be complete without some mention of Judas Joe Lieberman.  In the world of, “is it good for the Jews or bad for the Jews” –a world I sometimes  inhabit—-his actions are way beyond being ‘bad’ for the Jews.  The man is a scumbag.  (It’s interesting that some off the epithets that I used as a kid have held up so well.  The good ones have real staying power).   

This brief hiatus from the blog (collectively, we have to come up with a better term…I’m thinking ‘clog’) has partly been caused by the fact that I’ve begun dating again.  This, I needed, like a luch en cup.  (ask your rabbi or your German friend sitting next to you). I’m on-line for all the world to see.  I’ve done it before and it’s every bit as awful as I remember.  I’ve been trying to come up with an analogy for what the experience is like.  The most immediate thing  that comes to mind is a parallel with  going to the dentist for a teeth cleaning;  it’s a really, really uncomfortable experience but you walk out with clean, sparkling teeth.  So, why endure the process?  Simple…as per the Woody Allen joke, I need the eggs.  I think we all need the eggs.

But in the land of unintended consequences, another benefit has surfaced.  Some of the women I’ve been in touch with have been sent the blog link (the blog Neil seems to do better than the real Neil) and claim to like it and will continue to follow it regardless of what does or doesn’t happen between us.   So, in my never-ending attempt to build readership, I’ve found this other vehicle.  More than likely, I will take these women for drinks and dinner.  Which means that I’ll probably be paying more per reader than  Mike Bloomberg spent for each vote he got.  But that’s okay.

And lastly, a brief office update.  Nire’s pregnancy …she’s due in March.  She’s growing and glowing.   She must think she’s having twins because instead of eating for two, she seems to be eating for at least three.  But, she looks wonderful. We haven’t decided on a name. She and Luap are being very cagey about this…as if it’s their decision alone…but I know they’re just preparing a bunch of options for the office to vote on.  I’m very keen on the given  name of  “Luap” (just think what that would be backwards).  We’ll see.  We had our office Christmas party at a wonderful restaurant in the neighborhood.   We’re very, very close and loving….yet, when the bill came I found myself sitting alone at the table.  That’s okay too.

As my friend Jane says,

Peace, Love and Warm Pies

Neil

4 Responses to “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like……”

  1. nire Says:

    I’m not really glowing, my face is just greasy from the package of bacon I just consumed. 🙂

  2. Jane Says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever said “peace, love and warm pies”, Neil. But I kind of like it. It’s like Martha Stewart meets Grace Slick. Thanks. peace, love and lots of warm holiday tarts, Jane

  3. iron(ic)man triathlon Says:

    i was close…holdiay tarts….pies. if i had it to do over again (which i will), i think it would be ‘peace, love and warm thighs’….

  4. ed Says:

    (In the voice of Homer Simpson) “Mmmm… Warm thighs.”

Leave a Reply

