Don’t Cry For Me South Carolina

I wanted  to write something about the  scandal involving  Mark Sanford, the Governor of South Carolina.  I came up with what I thought was a great title, sat down at the computer and then……nothing.  “Blogger’s block”  has hit me like a ton of bricks (see…I’ve even taken to writing in cliches).

Now, I can imagine that this is a relief to some (or maybe a lot) of you, but to me, it’s a big deal.  A very big deal.  These writings have become an important part of my routine, my entertainment.  I know I may be over-reacting here.  After all, this is my first bout of BB but as I’m getting older, each time l can’t do something I was able to do yesterday, the first thought I have is that “this is where the slide down that slope towards dementia  begins”.  This is exactly the same feeling I have when I have a bad day on the tennis courts.  Each ball I can’t run down, each shot that I miss takes on a disproportionate meaning.  Of course, it’s disproportionate only if I’m wrong in my assessment.  I could have it exactly right and in fact,  that missed shot was the beginning of many, many more missed shots. In other words,  “this could be the start of something big”.  In a bad way.

This feeling of …I guess, vulnerability,  has been growing for a while.  For example, last year, I found out that I could no longer whistle.  (that’s another essay altogether).  Found out that  what was once mine, was mine no longer.  The whistle-loss by itself is not so worrisome.  I can  (and do) live without whistling but obviously, it’s what it represents that is scary.  Add enough of these things together and then….. well, I don’t think I have to spell it out for you.

“I made a mistake when I was there (Argentina) in meeting with the woman  who I was unfaithful to my wife with.”  This was part of the apology issued last week  by  Mark Sanford, the governor of South Carolina.  A fairly inelegant statement.  From a grammatical viewpoint,  the worse thing about it  is that he ends his statement with a preposition.  I’m almost certain that’s a no-no.  I’ve always been a pretty good grammarian, so I hope I’m right about that.    Please, please don’t tell me  I’m wrong.   It would be awful to find out that faculty  is going too.

13 Responses to “Don’t Cry For Me South Carolina”

  1. jackie Says:

    no, no, rest assured. You are still a good “gammarian” but your spelling is slipping, sorry. Unless, of course, you’re referring to your love of women’s legs, in which case, hey, things are looking up.

  2. charn Says:

    yup, that’s definitely what your right about (heh, heh)
    gee, that reminds me of my famous witch laugh…

  3. Claire Says:

    And the second worst thing grammatically is that it should be “whom”….”the woman with whom I was unfaithful to my wife”…so do you think all this obsessing about grammar is a diversion from the real problems? Marital betrayal, aging, loss, decay and death…let’s stick to grammar! But, Neil, don’t forget: I love a man who’s vulnerable!

    • ironicman Says:

      ….and who’s more vulnerable than i am? how lucky am i? (these are rhetorical questions–they have no answers…..i hope)

  4. Claire Says:

    where does luck come into it? you’ll have to explicate.

    • ed Says:

      Ask a blogger to EXPLICATE?!?

      Ask Roddick, HOW do you hit it fast?
      Ask Rush, HOW do you get it Right?
      Ask Andrew Lloyd Webber, HOW do cats dance & sing?
      Ask a grammarian HOW up with this do we put?

      But just go with Mark Sanford’s rhetoric…I’m sure Miss Argentina’s HOT!

  5. Claire Says:

    Ed: yes, ask a blogger to explicate. You’d think he would want to! So how come no response to my question?

  6. Ray Says:

    grammer, schmmer!! At long last you mentioned something about your tennis game. Isn’t that a major part of your lifestyle? I think it deserves more ink. I would like to read your thoughts about Wimbledon. Oh, I forgot someone from the club is already doing that!

    • ironicman Says:

      good idea ray! and since steve is now back from wimbledon there’s a huge void to be filled. i do have an idea for a title for a blog about wimbledon….something like “if i never see the williams sisters in a blowout or hear dick enberg cover a match again, i’ll die a happy man”. what do you think?

  7. Ray Says:

    I like it!! But be careful, politically correct!

  8. David Says:

    Hey Neil, this is not a comment on your last post, but a suggestion for a future one: the other night I was watching a recording I made of the recent TV show on the history of the Brooklyn Dodgers (dont try to fool anyone, Neil, I know you are old enough to remember them). One segment was about the Dodgers TV show, Happy Felton and the Knothole Gang…and there was a closeup of Happy in which he looked exactly like Al Franken. In fact, right now there is a huge photo of Franken up on the Talkingpoints.com blog, celebrating his victory in the MN court, in which Franken’s resemblance to Felton is uncanny. Perhaps they are father and son (isn’t Franken from Bklyn originally?). Let me know what you think.

    Still enjoying your blog.

    • ironicman Says:

      do i know you?
      ok, ok, i do. so let me see if i have this right……you make a comment about something that i haven’t written about and then i ought to write something to fit the comment? would you go to the store for a suit (not that you need to any longer….you probably just stay in your bathrobe all day a la uncle junior) and buy the one the salesperson wants to sell you as he tells you to either lose weight or bulk up so it will fit.? i’m not sure of the analogy but i think it might be close.

      it’s easy to see what al franken looks like….how about a link to see what happy felton looked like? (btw…i don’t think franken is from brooklyn…now we know that norm coleman definitely is.) who knows…maybe happy and al do have a connection. i think i’ll spend tomorrow looking into that.

Leave a Reply

