Arlen Specter…….Man or Mirth?

Who would have thought that Arlen Specter would be the NEW AMERICAN HERO.  But he is.  At least,  in my eyes.  I’ve become obsessed with him.  Last night I woke up at about 3AM and started thinking about Arlen.  Before long, I realized his name is an anagram of  “Learn Respect’.   I was fairly proud and woke my girlfriend who was lying, not too comfortably, next to me.  I told her what  I had come up with.  At first,  “Really…. that’s  cool!”.  Then, after thinking about his name she added,”‘that’s really not too difficult”‘.   Since I had been up for a while, I was ready for this and smartly came back with, ‘”well then, how come YOU didn’t think of it.”   She said that she was too busy to spend  her time moving around the letters of someones name to see if it spells something.  Maybe she has a point.   And then again…… I wonder what I might be able to  do with Al Franken?

7 Responses to “Arlen Specter…….Man or Mirth?”

  1. Buzz Says:

    WOW! That’s amazing! Get some sleep.

  2. ed Says:

    Am I to understand that Buzz & i’man both chimed in at 3:30 a.m.? You guys get up early! “Learn respect.” Great! See what you can do with Benedict Arnold. Then try Rosenberg – use Julius or Ethel as you may.

    • ironicman Says:

      the time on this site is ‘GMT’, whatever that is (probably somewhere in the Pacific). Ed…you’re on very dangerous ground when you bring up the rosenbergs. you may want to use a pseudonym….or possibly an anagram of ‘ed’

  3. Jane Says:

    I asked my daughter, who has set out on a path to create an urban bed and breakfast in Williamsburg (see captainkitchen.blogspot.com for her adorable site), to create a cheese ball in Arlen Specter’s honor. She has not done so, so it may be up to me … or up to one of YOU out there. Neil, why don’t you plan a ’60th’ celebration? There’s a new place opening in Brooklyn that’s now just serving drinks called Prime Meats on Court Street that may be a great place to celebrate. We can start an Arlen Specter Meet Up Group!

    • ironicman Says:

      i love the idea of drinks for a ’60th’. would also be interested in having drinks for any number from 50 on up.

  4. Jane Says:

    Oh god, and now with Souter retiring, we’ll have even more to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

